The Walt Disney Co. & Forests

Excuse me if I’m being harsh. Disney invests in saving forests? Give me a break. To me this seems quite ironic. The Walt Disney Co. has spent hundreds of millions of dollars and cleared thousands of acres of land just for its universal theme parks. To invest a mere 4 million dollars (in the light of Disney’s massive income) in restoring nature is a joke action. It is more symbolic than effective. I mean Disney makes billions of dollars every year, only to invest less than 0.1% of its income in a major problem that is only exacerbated by its own being. Please feel free to disagree, but I believe that the carbon dioxide problem would be ameliorated if Disney found ways to limit its own harm to forests. And to potentially make things worse, Disney has recently been accused of dumping wastes at Burbank Studios. Because this trial is still new, these claims have yet to be substantiated. But despite this recent accusation, the simple operation of the theme parks and whatnot has released enough harmful products into nature. Is Disney just trying to cover up with this investment? Is Disney just trying to capture some unaware people into thinking that it is here to help nature, not to hurt it?

My disbelief of the intentions of Disney’s forestation efforts was present before I read the article comments. When I finally scrolled down, I realized some people agreed with my opinions. One post said, “Another great example of corporate ‘Greenwashing’.” Some others disagreed with my views. I’m not saying that Disney’s actions won’t benefit nature. Any amount of money donated to conservation efforts will prove useful. I simply find it hypocritical that Disney is assuming a responsible public image when it actually is hurting nature in many clandestine ways.

One response to “The Walt Disney Co. & Forests

  1. I completely agree with you Miles. Disney is one of the biggest corporations in the country and clearly have billions of dollars that go into making and maintaining these parks and yet the are only spending 4 million on the forests. I did not know about the scandals you posted about, but this does seem like a major cover up. If the world sees that Disney is doing something to protect the world and save the environment, they will not think twice about the harm Disney is causing through its business. This donation is purely for business and while I agree that it is good that the money is still going to the conservation project, I think the intentions are completely wrong. But then that brings up the point of whether or not intentions matter when the outcome could be an improved world. I would like to think that people help for the right reasons, but often that is simply not the case.

Leave a Reply

